Francesco Anthony Arcuri

Center Forward Shoots: Left

Jersey #13

Born: June 13, 2003 ∙ Woodbridge, ON

Height: 5’7″ ∙ Weight: 120 lbs

# Of years playing hockey: 10 years

Current team/ Level in hockey: Toronto Marlboros “AAA”

Dream team to play for/ Favourite team:

Toronto Maple Leafs

Why did you pick hockey?

“I started playing hockey when I was young and I loved the competitiveness in the sport (getting goals, assisting, challenging).  I love to push myself to get better.”

Favourite part of the sport?

“The best part of the sport for me is winning.  I love winning with my team and contributing to the win.  I want to be a leader.”

Who is the biggest part in helping you make it this far?

“My mom and dad are always there for me.  They have always supported me.  My sister and brother and my grandparents are my biggest fans.  We have a very close family who only want the best for me.  My entire family are always cheering me on.”

Typical Days Schedule:

  • 7:30 My dad drives me to school.  We live in Kleinburg, so its about a half hour away.
  • 8:30 We start school
  • We start the day with language
  • 9:45 We start to get ready to get on the ice.
  • 10:15 – 11:30 Hockey class
  • 11:50 – 12:15 Lunch
  • 12:20- Math
  • 1:20 – Science
  • 2:20- French
  • 3:20 – Intramurals (dodge ball, european handball)
  • 4:00 My mom picks me up.
  • Usually after school I have hockey, whether it be a team practise, game, private skill session or skating lesson then dinner and in bed by 9:30 p.m.

Meal prep/menu:

“I eat protein (eggs) and fruit (banana) in the morning, pasta at lunch, and a combination of carbs, protein and vegetables at dinner and I drink lots of water daily.”

Workout routine/ schedule:

“I workout everyday after school.”

Hockey schedule (for the week):

“Train daily at Everest Academy, once week works on skills, once a weeks works on skating and team practises three times a week.”

Parent’s Role

What is your role in yours son’s hockey life?

“Our role in Francesco’s hockey life is like every parent’s role…..preparing meals, making sure the equipment is ready, driving to practice, and to the games, etc, but also there’s the praising for a job well done or lifting them up when they are down on themselves because the night before they didn’t think they had the best game.  It’s the pep talks before the game or the analyzation talks of the game on the drive home.”

When did you know your son would make something of the sport?

“We never knew that Francesco would make something of hockey but we did know that he absolutely loved the sport.  He could never get enough of suiting up and getting on the ice, whether for practices or games. We saw his passion and drive, so we gave him the resources and we let him follow his dreams.”

Cost of Equipment:

  • Stick – $300.00 the only reason i know this answer is because I buying  a new one every 6 months or so.
  •  gloves
  • shoulder pads
  • skates
  • elbow pads
  • knee pads
  • hockey pants
  • helmet
  • jerseys
  • under armour

Equipment replacement:

“To date we have paid thousands of dollars in equipment.  The highest costing items would have to be his skates because we change them yearly (he grows out of them) and his sticks (the sticks break). So far we have been lucky with the other gear because Francesco is the type of kid that when he is use to his equipment he doesn’t like changing it.  He hangs on to it for a long time.”